Principles & Organisation

The Wheat Initiative governance is driven by principles of transparency and inclusivity. It values its members’ engagement and it promotes the sharing of knowledge, information and resources to increase synergy through collaboration.

The global governance of the Wheat Initiative is set out in its Charter (PDF 240KB). It is organised around 3 major committees, the Research Committee, the Institutions’ Coordination Committee and the Scientific Board.

Thematic Expert Working Groups (EWGs) contribute to the identification of research priorities and to the emergence of coordinated research programmes. EWGs are established where there would be benefit from bringing together experts with a focus on a topic of relevance to the Wheat Initiative’s aims and objectives, and they are open to non-Wheat Initiative members.

Associated Programmes are already established international collaborations and partnerships that develop research activities in line with the priorities identified by the Wheat Initiative.