Scientific Board

ROLE: Provides strategic leadership of the Wheat Initiative and develops vision, strategy and priority documents

  • Identifies new Members and proposes their membership to the Institutions’ Coordination Committee
  • Liaises with the Institutions’ Coordination Committee, the Research Committee and the Expert Working Groups
  • Organises a biannual International Wheat Research Conference in coordination with International Wheat Genetic Symposium and International Wheat Conference
  • Appoints the International Scientific Coordinator


  • Eight members elected by the Research Committee plus the International Scientific Coordinator
  • The Scientific Board now comprises:
    • H. Braun (CIMMYT)
    • H. Handa (Japan)
    • P. Langridge (Chair, Australia)
    • G. Moore (UK)
    • J. Poland (USA)
    • C. Pozniak (Co-Chair, Canada)
    • C. Tapsell (KWS)
    • G. Tranquilli (Argentina)